Milan San Remo, or  La Classica di Primavera, is an annual cycle race between the two Italian places and it began in 1907.

Apart from being around 182 miles long, the most difficult parts of the course are the Passo del Turchino, in the middle of the course, as well as Poggio, near the start. This race takes place every year in the north of Italy and runs between Milan and San Remo. The most exciting part of the race takes part on Via Roma. The course crosses the Italian Riviera between the sea and the mountain and it offers its competitors wonderful views of the city.

Tom Simpson is the only British cyclist to have won the Milan San Remo course and his victory was in 1964. Likewise, Seán Kelly brought victory to Ireland when he won the race in 1992.

Milan San Remo will take place this year, from March 20-23, 2015.

Milan Travel Guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.